Topics/Groups

Our goal will be to formulate ideal immigration policies. Note that these should be from the point of view of the national good. The latter comprises issues of the economy, government budgets, the environment, culture, quality of life and so on.

The topics are:

Costs and benefits of immigration:

Group members:

Musa Akbari (makbari@ucdavis.edu); Liz Byrne (ebyrne@ucdavis.edu); Sonia Chan (sochan@ucdavis.edu); Ashley Hoffman (aahoffman@ucdavis.edu)

Note:

This is not a policy question per se, but knowledge of this is important for formulating policy.

Issues:

Employment-based immigration:

Group members:

Iain Bartolomei (imbartolomei@ucdavis.edu); Duncan Della (dzduncan@ucdavis.edu); Jenny Schilling (jdschilling@ucdavis.edu)

Issues:

Family-based immigration:

Group members:

Laurie Li (lmli@ucdavis.edu); Steph Ng (smyng@ucdavis.edu); Daniel Song (limsong@ucdavis.edu)

Issues:

Humanitarian immigration:

Group members:

Alice Hsu (athsu@ucdavis.edu); Joya Kazi (jnkazi@ucdavis.edu); Amanda Thompson (afthompson@ucdavis.edu)

Issues:

Unauthorized immigration:

Group members:

Sukhvir Ghuman (skghuman@ucdavis.edu); Erica Fernandez (efernandez@ucdavis.edu); Kristina Iringan (kairingan@ucdavis.edu); Michael Siracusa (mosiracusa@ucdavis.edu)

Issues: